Monday, May 11, 2009

Wilco: Free Download And A Taste Of The New Record

While we were a bit bummed not to hear any new material from Wilco's new record when we were caught them at Jazz Fest the other week, that certainly hasn't done anything to deter us from being psyched for their forthcoming record. Over the past year or so, the band has given tastes of the new material here and there, and to our ears it sounds like perhaps Mr. Tweedy is indulging his darker side a bit more than he has of late.

While Sky Blue Sky was an admitted foray into earnest singer-songwriter mode, the new material appears to hinge more on Tweedy's uncanny ability to pull influences from all over the rock spectrum and mix them into a unique bit of goodness. What's more, the lyrical content appears to have returned to Tweedy's more poetic influences, and depend less on a direct storyteller vibe.

As the album release grows near, more and more information is amassing, and this week the cover art dropped (above) as well as the following track list:

Wilco (the song)

Deeper Down
One Wing
Bull Black Nova
You And I
You Never Know
Country Disappeared
I'll Fight
Sonny Feeling
Everlasting Everything

While all the material has yet to surface, a few of the tracks are out there. We've linked to them so that you can get a taste for yourself. We have to say, we're thinking this record is gonna be a doozy.

On top of all the new album release goodness, the band has also released a sign-o-the-times download via their website. A cover of the Woody Guthrie tune "The Jolly Banker", the song is a well placed dig at our nation's current financial woes. While you can snag the track for free, the band is hoping that you'll at least make a small donation to the Woody Guthrie Foundation. Head to the band's site to grab the tune.